Poets logo

Afterimage

Different shades to every story…

By Lamar WigginsPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 2 min read
16
Afterimage
Photo by Roma Kaiuk🇺🇦 on Unsplash

FLASHES-

from multiple cameras, captures my movement in succession… The evanescent photons, bound by law, spread across my retina and fuse with receptors. I close my eyes to pinpoints of light lingering on the dark, blank screen of my eyelids. They sparkle in and out of existence but eventually fade to nothingness - until the next flash occurs…

CONCENTRATE-

on what I'm doing. People are not aware that I'm not in the moment... I drag my physical form here in order to feed my insipid life. I think I would rather be watching paint dry.

FEEL-

the warm-bloodedness of my bare feet contrast against the cold, sheik, marble runway as I engage in my routine of appearing glamourous. It's what they want. It's what they are here for.

DAZZLE-

them with confidence - it accentuates fashion and the Avantgarde bouffant I spent two hours undergoing. The image portrays the elite, the artistic, the particular, the lonely...

Image by Amad Ardity from Pixabay

AVOID-

any meaningful eye contact with the crowd. To them, I am just a walking mannequin with no feelings of my own; an ambivalent robot, fluent in making garments come alive - appealing to interpretive eyes.

AVOID-

breathing or opening my mouth even a little. The pungent vapor of expensive perfume slathers my tongue. The ubiquitous stench attaches to oils on my skin. I can already envision the amount of scrubbing it will take.

AVOID-

listening to the inarticulate sounds of discussion coming from spectators. My ears create a roadblock, they don't want my brain to know what’s being said.

Her forehead is too big... Look how skinny she is... I've seen her naked before...

Image by Amad Ardity from Pixabay

Ninety seconds stretches forever, when the only thing I care about is the comfort of the Hilton.

I can see backstage getting closer and closer as I cross my step over and over. Don't rush though! The hands that feed expect perfection. All their hard work will be critiqued while all my hard work is an afterthought.

The flashes continue, even though my back is turned against the judgmental faces.

Another mannequin is already walking out in front of me. I know this one well. She is beautiful, unique and underrated. Our eyes meet, but we don't dare break character; the hands are watching... It's her stage now. The flashes speed up once more...

I will face the Catwalk again, in another city at another time, where the gurus compete for notoriety. This is what I do... My soul lives in a gray area, wondering if I'm proud or if bliss is taunting...

Image by Bernadette V from Pixaby

performance poetryfact or fictioncelebrities
16

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    What form, wow this was awesome. I have chills 😭

  • Oh my. There is always something that is more than meets the eye. I love how you incorporated all the senses into the routine life of models. You evoked so much empathy for them in me with your poem!

  • Phil Flannery12 months ago

    Sounds like a difficult life. Very emotive and thought provoking.

  • Very Good Lamar

  • JBaz12 months ago

    Very insightful, well done

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    This was a complete and total experience! I love how you not only vividly incorporated the senses, but also the emotions of these models as well. On the outside, they are stoic and unbothered, but on the inside, a different story! Loved this 😍

  • Wonderful delving into the "supposed to be thoughtless" mind of a runway model, about whom no one seems to care unless they're wanting to bed them. And should they be so fortunate as to recognize & meet such a one outside of runway hall, would they be able to survive the shock of discovering their synapses fire the same as any other's & that there is spirit & soul behind those eyes? Marvelous writing.

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    Wow. Impressive Lamar. 🥰 wow !!

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    This is fantastic. Really, really well done.

  • Roy Stevens12 months ago

    'She is beautiful, unique and underrated." Drop the mike sir, you nailed the moment!

  • Kristen Balyeat12 months ago

    Wow! I was walking that runway through this incredibly vivid piece, Lamar! From the flashes to the thoughts you kept my eyes moving from line to line, totally captivated, and also feeling the weight of it all. Amazing work, Lamar!! 👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽

  • Leslie Writes12 months ago

    Woah this felt like stepping into someone else’s skin! Very cool!

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    Oh wow, Lamar!! This was so beautiful yet haunting. I loved the form you chose. Those bold words acted like flashes in my face. And I could feel the disenchantment and the void. Really well done :)

  • wow...applaud, applaud, applaud

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.