Poets logo

Afterdeath

after I died

By Jackson HowlingPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

After I died I fell through the floor,

And down through a tunnel of open doors,

That hung off their hinges all splintered and dry

From the infinite souls that have passed them by.

-

I spiral-drifted with the dust,

Through silky-soft black-satin-dusk,

My soul began to drift apart

Unheld together by the heart

-

The inky-black is soft and warm

And here I can take any form

And like a snake by flute entranced

My silver dust begins to dance.

-

The pieces of me glow and sway;

We ebb and swell and flow away;

We spark and whorl like high-kicked embers;

The pieces of me all remember:

-

The taste of green-gold summer breeze;

To rise with wings, to fall with ease;

And now I’m a wreath, and now I’m a ring

Of laughing stardust, spiralling.

-

I know if I stop, I know if I think

I’ll lose myself into black ink,

I’ll wasting-fade into the dusk

And leave behind nor light nor husk;

-

So here in the night my dust will dance,

Until an end is reached, by chance;

Here in the night my dust will remember,

‘Til eternity swallows my final ember.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jackson Howling

Supposed to be studying for an engineering degree. But words are fun too. They keep escaping. So I thought I'd put them here. Favourite words: silver, Juarez, psithurism, twit.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.