Poets logo

After the Storm

My Washday Blues

By Joe YoungPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
Like
... like a kind of cordless kite (My own image)

I should’ve listened to the forecast

Before I went to work that day

Then I would have known

That Storm Bernice was on its way

But off I went, unaware

My home was in its path

And I came home to witness

The awful aftermath

For though my house was able

To withstand that gale force nine

I appeared to be missing

All my washing from the line

I spotted my grey trousers

Round a tree branch in a knot

And a pair of lycra boxers

Hugged a chimney pot

A white shirt soared above my head

Like a kind of cordless kite

And a freshly laundered bath towel

Obscured a traffic light

A t-shirt hung from the minute hand

Of the local town hall clock

And into a jet plane engine

Went a dozen of my socks

Like a flag unfurled a tea towel

Flapped on a weather vane

And my new Fred Perry polo shirt

I’d never see again

Note: I know that gale force 9 is one short of storm force, but I utilised some artistic licence.

Published on Medium.

humor
Like

About the Creator

Joe Young

Blogger and freelance writer from the north-east coast of England

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.