Poets logo

Afro Latinas

mixed babies

By Kaaliyah ReynaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Yea Im mixed, but im just like you

Dont i have the same right to know my roots?

I've always been too much for one side n not enough for the other.

Im either too expressive or not expressive enough

At times I couldn't define my own color.

They told me colorism existed but I couldnt feel the difference

I looked at all my people from a close distance

Afraid of the existance they both brought on to me

"Oh who's black? Let me guess, your moms white n your dads black thats usually how it goes. Yea u dont count ur too light ur too nice. You grew up on that side why u tryna act like us?"

But thats the problem, ignorants so quick to assume

How can I try acting like something that was already written deep in my roots?

You see, we come from the same hurt, hell we probably got the same wounds.

My blackness was tormented right in my own home so out there was an easier kinda fume

I may not have the darkest skin but i forsure have the deepest roots.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Kaaliyah Reyna

scientist poet/writer. higher power rebellion. soul healer. love giver. seeking and embracing my truth in this life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.