Poets logo

Affection

Versahi

By VersahiPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Perhaps I am addicted to the idea of finding love

I fall much too easily

Tripping on kind words

Stumbling when treated like a human being

My feet tangled in the web of my unruly past

Clinging to a glimmer of any small sign like

Freshly picked fruit

As though holding it tight in my hands will stop it from turning to rot

I have watched so much of my affection mould and wither, and every time wondered

"Why me?"

But it is that I am addicted to rotten fruit

In the hope that my affection can make it sweet

heartbreaklove poemsart
Like

About the Creator

Versahi

For a good many years, writing has been a therapeutic escape for me, helping to make sense of the complicated emotions. It allowed me to process and create something I could be proud of. Please enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.