Poets logo

Addressed to a Boy I Used to Know

For you held a special place in my heart.

By Delenn MulvaneyPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image Source

Those big brown eyes,

I love the way it feels when you look at me.

Your head falls back onto your arm that is resting on the table.

You were smiling despite the alcohol in your system,

smiling at me.

I put my hand onto your back and patted a little bit.

You slid your arm around my waist and pulled me closer to you,

as if you needed me for comfort.

I stood there for a while rubbing your back softly.

We gave you water and bread to help wash out your system.

Eventually we got you to the grass,

You were sitting next to me for a bit,

then you laid in my lap.

I gently rubbed your back and ran my fingers through your hair.

While you laid there you told me you love me.

You asked again and again if I was going to be leaving,

when I said not until I’m sure you’re fine,

you asked me not to leave at all.

I was drunk and you were fucked up,

but I was there for you.

Your presence filling my space for such a long amount of time,

it made me realize something.

You held my hand and my heart pounded.

You held on so tightly,

like you didn’t want to ever let me go,

for fear of losing me.

Typing this makes my heart ache and burn.

I don’t know what to do, I want you.

I want you. I want you.

August 6th 1:24 AM

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.