Poets logo

Addict

Let the pleasures of life consume me.

By Natalie DietzPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Addict
Photo by Gwendal Cottin on Unsplash

I am an addict.

When I was a child I was addicted to adventures. Adventures that consisted of new horizons and dirt roads untaken. I craved the sunrises of forbidden journeys taken at night. A sense of peace found rising from the darkness. What wonders a new day would bring. I just kept wanting more.

When I was slightly older. Not by much my heart craved more. Something closer to home that was taken but not soon forgotten. I was addicted to love. I found multiple hearts. They were filled with darkness coated in sweetness that made my teeth ache. Days of fighting turned to nights of lovemaking. How normal it seemed through blinded eyes. Even with the pain I just wanted more.

After that one tragic night. A night filled with heartbreak and agony. I craved for someone, something to numb the pain. A pain so fierce, it tore my heart in two. Screaming and pleading I silenced the voices. Voices that ran deep until I took my doses. Self-medicated to the point of no return. I prayed for darkness to swoop in and take me away. Even after almost dying, I kept craving more...

I craved... to be seen. Someone to understand ME. To be noticed and loved. I wanted someone to love me as I would love them. I wanted our hearts to collide and burst with passion. Exploding into colors that would paint our way. New beginnings and horizons to be reached. I craved a future with a calm love and embrace. A sense of peace that would follow along our journey. A home I could finally call my own.

I'm addicted to my peace of mind...

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Natalie Dietz

I am an artist struggling through the creative world. Too many ideas and not enough time to make them come to life.

Follow me on Facebook and Instagram.

FB: https://www.facebook.com/Ndietz321

IG: @nataliedietz321

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.