Poets logo

Across the multiverse

Would you still?

By Anna TorresPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
2
Across the multiverse
Photo by Bryan Goff on Unsplash

If I have you, I have not failed. A fire that pulses with a brewing passion, engulfing me. A flicker that lingers. It is a constant I have relied on, keeping me from instability. Two opposing forces that reach out to one another, still. We built a legacy on makeshift foundation and have restored ourselves over and over again. If resurrection were a gift, we would be powerful beyond any recall. Upon repair and revival, I don’t wonder where you’ve gone. You’ve remained a limb forever attached to me. This love rejuvenates me with your soul burying me alive. Reinvigorate me, reaffirm me. We stand tall, braving the harsh elements we created. We erect firm, blaming each other for past mistakes. Come help me extinguish the fire. Come throw me down into the pyre. In this whirlwind we gave birth to. In this fairytale we know doesn’t exist. Would I still choose you over endless possibilities? Would you still love me even at the end of infinity? I was there at the end of one cycle. You teleported me into another. We will be revered. Our love will reverberate across the cosmos, across the centuries. A millennia holds no sway over us. We will outlive our mortal wounds. We will transcend every form of abuse we threw at each other. Love and hate have tortured us so. Love took its toll on us. If I have you, I have not failed across any multiverse I was lucky enough to find you. It’s not a contest we win. It’s a journey we take hand-in-hand. This bittersweet escape where others have attempted but end up incomplete. I’m not missing any piece of my future but you help stitch the puzzle back together. Do I want to go back? Could I even try? You have altered this dimension and it will not rewind. We created new outcomes with the flick of our wands. With every new invention, we propel forward into new alternatives. I don’t know what awaits us in the end but if you’re there, I will be brave. Would you still choose me? Would you still love me? If we could, we would reach for immortality. What would we achieve if not infamy?

love poemssurreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.