Poets logo

Acrimonious

we made it to the end

By Anna TorresPublished 6 months ago 2 min read
Like
Acrimonious
Photo by Felipe Albertella on Unsplash

You are merely a speck of dust in an unforgiving universe. You are a flash of light forgotten in the indifference only you deserve. It is by providence that we've gotten this far. Our doom has come and it's about time we lay down our armor. Our swords hit the ground and we surrender. With detonation about to implode, all of our deeds are exposed. The horde has come to steal me away and I will go willingly. Our exploits are done and all of our accomplishments are meaningless. Our cruelty to each other cannot hurt us anymore. All my insults and criticisms, all your faults and afflictions. Madness has no other plans for me and all my earthly burdens are stripped from me. My suffering will not be extended. Tormented shadows will envelop us in a fiery embrace. They won't patronize us or pressure us anymore. The prophets can't speak anymore. Maybe we never heard them in the first place. The apostles await us in the afterlife and it will be a short trip. I've said farewell to the muses as they influence these words one final time. I harbored a grudge against the masochist in me but that was a waste of time. No more fights, no more empty threats. If we ever loved one another truly, it was a mistake we can't take with us. The world has gone silent from the deafening blast. The mesmerizing sky has fulfilled the rest of my dreams. The illuminated clouds are headed this way. The painted heavens are a sight to behold. Hold my hand, honey. Hold me close because this is indeed the last time. One final smile before the earth comes to ruins. We made it to the end, my dear. I hope this moment lasts forever.

love poemssurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.