Poets logo

Abyss

Who Really Knows?

By Jake LoPrestiPublished 7 months ago 2 min read
Like

The places I could've gone

The people I could've been

The lives I could've lived

The things I could be in.

I've seen my share of hard times

I've felt my share of pain

I've fallen off my pedestal

I've had only dark to gain.

Who was I when I wandered?

Who was I when I fought?

Who was I when I comitted crime?

Is it fair for the karma I got?

I could've been a smuggler

I could've been a thief

I could've been a doctor

Its up to my belief.

I found myself in transit

I crossed this milky path

I stepped into this body

I accepted all Earths wrath.

I chose to live this timeline

I'm aware of being in this one

I'm sure I'll look back on it

And think "man that sure was fun"

The places I could've gone

The people I could be

I stuck true to this path

It seems like the true me.

What if I am not just here

What if I'm not just me

What if I live as multiple beings

But only through these eyes can see

Is it the limit to what I can witness?

Or the limit to what I'm allowed?

Are we only a drop in the ocean?

Or all the faces in the crowd?

I could've been a lawyer

A tattoo artist or a king

I could've been a pelican

Or making fancy rings

I could've been the silhouette

I could've been your dreams

Perhaps a happy little thought

Or maybe frightened screams

I wonder where I would get to

If I ever wandered about

If I'd find myself in darkness

Hoping you’d hear a shout

Or would I be in the light

Guided strong and true

Would I stand atop a mountain

Calling out to the blue?

Where is all this wonder?

Where is all this aim?

It seems we've gotten stuck walking

Or thought it just a game.

This is all we have here

All we take when we are gone

A spark within our deepest depths

A will to move further on

The places I could've gone

The people I could've been

I pushed strong through the desert

And found sips of water again

I could've stopped at nothing

I could've stopped at good enough

I could've stayed as the observer

I could've stopped when times got rough.

I chose to live this life here

I chose to walk this way

I chose to move through darkness

I choose the bright new day.

This could be dry and deserted

It could be broken down

It could be subpar to the best

It could be the beginning of a new town

Who's to say what is creation?

Who's to say there was no try?

Who's allowed to cast the shadows

While the others say goodbye?

This is all a dream here

A nightmare and a nap

Don't hold too tight to gold

You'll never get it back.

The places I could've gone

The people I could've been

The lives I could've lived

The things I could be in.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jake LoPresti

I write in search of ultimate truth. Beyond light and dark, and through love. Life is a series of waves to catch and I’m just looking for the right one to ride.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.