Poets logo

Abuela Lavinia

A Villanelle Poem

By ReileyPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
6
My Grandmother Lavinia, 1970.

As the light fades into a retreating night,

The doctors and everyone else say that your mind does fizzle.

You do remember me, right?

.

A woman always with a smile so bright.

My grandmother who taught me what it was to never shrivel

As the light fades into a retreating night.

.

You endured every single fight

Even with a memory that started to sizzle.

You do remember me, right?

.

A historied woman who came on a flight

To this country: your loved ones share stories official

As the light fades into a retreating night.

.

I think of you as you rest tonight

And I cannot help it if it's loud, my sniffle.

You do remember me, right?

.

I hope one day that we can reunite

When everything no longer feels so superficial.

As the light fades into a retreating night,

You do remember me...right?

For my grandmother: in memory. 20 August 1932 - 8 December 2023

heartbreaksad poetry
6

About the Creator

Reiley

An eclectic collection of the fictional and nonfictional story ideas that have accumulated in me over the years. They range from all different sorts of genres.

I hope you enjoy diving into the world of my mind's constant creative workings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moorea day ago

    This is not a form that's easy, but you've used it perfectly here!

  • Rachel Deeming4 days ago

    What a wonderful tribute to your grandmother. Sorry for your loss. What a way to commemorate her.

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    Aw, damn. This was powerful, so heartbreaking, yet with so much beauty. Well done on a stunning tribute piece and sending you prayers and love. Sorry for your loss.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.