Poets logo

ABRACADABRA

Dreams are magical portals that can sometimes transport us to the place we were always destined to end up.

By AJ ThomasPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
ABRACADABRA
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

In a kingdom full of witchhunts,

On the journey for the key,

A mission of my own flight,

I awoke and flung the entrapment,

On that day my soul grew repugnant,

By the grave, I saw the paradox,

Entrapment - tormentor of my dreams,

Once upon a midnight victimless,

I heard a warlock in the willow trees,

Whilst trudging through the enchanted forest,

Happy, Giddy, almost human,

My passion is the splendid indifference,

Misery is love.

Love is misery.

Now foolish is just the thing,

Does it tear you apart to see the fleetingness so dismal? 

To know that all mankind is doomed?

Doomed to die at the hand of our own blade?

From our own doings?

We set our own selves to self destruct mode,

We bring about our own failure,

We are our own source of dereliction and despair,

How fortunate this sorcerer,

To be free to set his own limitations,

Be his own kind of beautiful,

His definition of wonderful, 

To be unbound of ties, 

To someone else's satisfaction

Not limited to societies ideology,

Free to exist,

Conform to his own inner standards,

Incongruous to humankind who fall victim,

Forced to be trapped inside themselves,

For fear if they are released,

They shall be shamed and ostracized,

Snubbed and disincluded,

Scoffed and snickered at, 

For your idea of normal,

Does not coincide with mine,

For fear of being an oddity,

We lock our true selves up,

Toss the key far into the labyrinth,

Never to be found again,

Hidden from ourselves or anyone else,

Who would not comprehend who we truly are,

Foolishness, rubbishness, frigamortis,

To dampen your own dreams,

To achieve someone else's glory,

On the quest to discover,

My life's purpose,

My own epiphany,

To find why I must remain,

In this ghastly existence,

Unappreciated and invisible,

I stumbled upon and unearthed,

Discovering the hiding place,

Where I stashed my key,

Many years ago,

Before it was lost,

Prior to my dreams being demolished,

When suppressing my thoughts,

Never crossed my mind, 

I unmasked its location, 

Revealing myself,

The me who I thought was long-lost,

Gone forever, 

Never to be alive once more,

Along the trail to a new existence,

I fell into the hole of the present,

Finding that I had,

What I was on the hunt for,

All along, 

Deep down in the entrapment,

A witchhunt in the kingdom,

I feared I would never escape,

The place I was amidst,

Was where I was always destined to be.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

AJ Thomas

Self proclaimed creator of literary masterpieces. Wife, mother of 3 teenagers, poet and aspiring author.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.