Poets logo

Blinded By The Darkness

Do not let myself be distracted by the splendor of the stars on my journey to the moon.

By AJ ThomasPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Blinded By The Darkness
Photo by FLY:D on Unsplash

Midnight is quiet and still,

Lonely yet dark,

It is my escape from the day's madness,

To stifle the screams of the thoughts that race through my mind.

Cold echoes of the haunting memory,

Of the fantasmal aspirations I once held so dear,

Rattle me down to my very core,

Send an icy shiver that surges into my bones.

The night sky dimly lit only by tiny twinkling stars,

Peeking through its snug blanket of blackness,

That has smothered out daylights beams,

Tucking them safely into bed until tomorrow.

I admire their beauty and wonder,

Escaping my reality,

I am finally at peace,

If only for a moment that I can close my eyes.

Imagining a world of darkness,

Lacking any light,

Heightening all my other senses in lieu,

I can almost taste pure tranquility.

Paralyzing my inner turmoil,

Forgetting my self maddening notions,

That I usually can all but put to rest,

Lay still in all the splendid glory of the celestial wonder.

Wandering aimlessly through this life's loneliness,

In solitude with the echoing stillness of my own thoughts,

The dreams I once believed were true,

Prove to be false demons that haunt my spinning mind.

No matter the obstacle that this cruel world put in our path

It shall be no defeat but the one I sprang forth on myself,

I am my own limit maker,

The decider of my own destiny.

Ruler of my own mind,

Prisoner of my own limitations,

Held captive by my own stubborn pride,

Caged by the selfish gratification I expect in myself.

Foolish chains I have bound all on my own,

Enveloping me in their devilish charm,

Blocking all the light this world has to offer,

Sheltering me in the shallow darkness.

My dreams seem so out of reach,

Like the galaxy of stars above me,

Yet as near as the ground beneath me,

Right in front of my face if I knew just where to gaze.

You may take my sight,

But steal not my vision,

My goals are but my own,

My destiny is of my own making.

I may have not reached my potential on this day,

Tomorrow is another opportunity,

Another leg in the journey of my quest for greatness,

To start over once again.

Wipe my slate clean in the morn,

Set my sights on the object of my affection,

Leave my shortcomings in the days before,

Let them not cloud my blue sky ahead.

I pick myself up, dust off the stench of failure,

Discard my faults, flaws, and failures to bed as I lay down,

Closing my eyes to the world, thanking God for all I have,

Promising myself tomorrow will be better than the day coming to a close.

Let myself not be distracted,

By the splendor of the stars as they pass me by,

On my journey to the moon,

Let me stay headstrong, focused, and determined.

Allow me to face my problems head-on,

Not scurry away in fright,

Do not allow me to be starstruck by the light,

Prevent me from being blinded by the darkness.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

AJ Thomas

Self proclaimed creator of literary masterpieces. Wife, mother of 3 teenagers, poet and aspiring author.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.