Poets logo

Above my storms

I am only older, Not wiser by a mile

By Benjamin KibbeyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Above my storms
Photo by Thomas Lipke on Unsplash

Calm myself with thoughts of

Where the opposite would lead.

Quicksand of a feeling,

So just lay back and breath.

Like riding on a mountain,

Made up of waves at sea,

By rising off the summit

And simply letting be.

I am only older,

Not wiser by a mile,

No stronger, no less taken

With each and every smile.

But as an earthen wall

Is compacted by its weight,

So time will firm a soul to stand

In ways that look like strength.

And knowing time must steal all things,

And knowing loves must fail,

It's better here, above my storms,

Than in them try to sail.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Benjamin Kibbey

Award-winning journalist, Army vet and current freelance writer living in the woods of Montana.

Find out more about me or follow for updates on my website.

You can also follow me on Facebook and Twitter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.