Poets logo

A Sentimental Ornament

The best are of you only

By Benjamin KibbeyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
A Sentimental Ornament
Photo by Chad Madden on Unsplash

Time: it numbs, it strains, it takes,

It spreads us thin and bitter.

It douses youthful, dreaming flames.

It makes dust of our glitter.

Sunrise, it is a rude awake.

Sunset, it merely passes.

Days become such plodding things.

Half empty, every glass is.

But I would hope it sparked a smile

That I just spoke like Yoda,

And wonder how I'll ever find

A word to rhyme with "Yoda."

And that was lazy, I'll grant you, sure,

But I prefer to claim "creative."

Most, I prefer my thoughts of you,

Who turns all grief ablative.

And that may not be perfect use

Or employment of that word,

But vapor stuff, "poof," disappeared

Is sensation you occur.

My Wishlist, it is shorter than

The one proposed by Vedder,

Yet the bit about the ornament

I feel down to the letter.

So I would seek to offer this,

A simple thing, a token,

To whisper in your deepest heart

A bit of what's unbroken:

I'd rather you, robes, Chinese food,

Cartoons, and maybe ice cream

Than any other place, person, time...

Than any other dream.

So know if there is ever doubt,

Dwelt on in moments lonely,

If you, right then, could see my thoughts,

The best are of you only.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Benjamin Kibbey

Award-winning journalist, Army vet and current freelance writer living in the woods of Montana.

Find out more about me or follow for updates on my website.

You can also follow me on Facebook and Twitter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.