Poets logo

Abosrbed into Black

a poem on color deficiency

By Kassandra CoghlanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

On a lazy Sunday afternoon

to fill a void in sound,

a question was pronounced.

A very safe question,

of no consequence,

it was assumed.

“What is your favourite color?”

My mind went black.

Names flashed through my mind

but I saw only black,

knew only black.

She waited with

interrogating eyes

hands outstretched.

Relativity

uncertainty

deficiency.

What color do I prefer?

All of the colors

A rainbow of glows

A kaleidoscope of tints

I like them all

But I can't see them

No red, no green, no violet

I like them all

when the spectrum shimmers

blurs

collapses

and absorbs into black.

nature poetry

About the Creator

Kassandra Coghlan

I was born and live in Canberra , Australia. I spent my teenage years in Brussels , and I studied printmaking at the Massachusetts Colledge of Art in Boston.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kassandra CoghlanWritten by Kassandra Coghlan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.