Poets logo

Abode

In the end, I won

By A Lady with a PenPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
View of the moon from my porch

I like it here

but moving was a chore

No more mounting pressures

So hushed my new world is boring

Far away from my suppressor

Good luck with your rehiring

Not another house to come across

Only our animals for guests

A squishy serenity comes with walking on the peat-moss

Painted birdhouse with cloying baby robins in their nests

I like it here

No one is starring anymore

The allure of fresh-cut grass

We had to hire a fellow

Our push mower didn’t make the pass

His ride on is a buttercup yellow

Blueberries, raspberries and strawberries we planted

Sample an honest mouthful

Offering a sweet flavour vantage

Their little mouths crammed full

I like it here

Enjoying my lair

Licking embers

Our longed-for fireplace

Darker Novembers

Only starlight on my face

Musky incense

Dark and calm spaces

the worst is in the past tense

Honeyed husband embraces

I like it here

It has been a whole year

Waving as cars pass, it’s an unspoken rule

No more need to roam

Sweaty logging road runs, stripping naked, cool splash of the pool

This place is our home

Our life soundtrack is playing

Grace, Joy, and Hope surround me

My babies giggling and dancing

I’m finally free

I like it here

I’ve avenged my life score

slam poetryinspirational
Like

About the Creator

A Lady with a Pen

Caroline Robertson's, books are beloved by both adults and children alike for their illustrations and engaging stories. She takes readers on an adventure, giving them the opportunity to explore different cultures, settings, and characters.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.