Poets logo

She’s Gone but She Used to be Mine

For my girl who flew

By A Lady with a PenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

For Millie

It’s not simple to say

Most days, I don’t recognize me

That this sadness fixation

holds me in place

makes me forsaken

Your sisters taken

more than I gave you

It’s not easy to know

I’m not anything

like I used to be

Although it’s true

I was better before the terror

I still remember my girl

She flourished, her keen eyes

So much to endure, she cried

A simple misstep

She was broken and couldn’t be fixed

She wasn’t lucky, but she was wild

She was wired, but she lived

All this dug up and embraced in a luminal sky

She is gone, but she used to be mine

And it’s not what I asked for

Sometimes life, just slips in, through the back door

And offers a surgeon, makes you believe what they can do

But it wasn’t true

And you weren’t what we asked for

If I’m honest, you were so much more than that

For a chance to start over and live life with you

For my girl that flew

Your too small plexus, weren’t enough

A blood clot that bursts, Your body gave up

The daffodils bloomed, and happiness delude

Arrest I can’t speak of

then, we were dumbstruck

And be stunned by the life that’s inside her

Growing stronger each day

’Till it took her away

To fight she was so little,

to bring her back…. is my wish,

My baby is gone, but she used to be mine

Oh, She used to be mine

She wasn’t lucky, but she was wild

She was wired, but she lived

All this dug up and embraced in her funeral sky

She is gone, but she used to be mine

sad poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

A Lady with a Pen

Caroline Robertson's, books are beloved by both adults and children alike for their illustrations and engaging stories. She takes readers on an adventure, giving them the opportunity to explore different cultures, settings, and characters.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.