Poets logo

ABCDEmotional Safety

Where do I factor in, when your understanding is just a mask?

By Symbollica The'BatPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
1
ABCDEmotional Safety
Photo by Elyas Pasban on Unsplash

Actually, I was too scared to say it

Because you acted safe-- a new place to be coveted

Carry myself back down to the safe,

Doubtful you realize

Everything's fine-- if I don't lose you

Fuck, I feel so lost

God knows all I've lost to these times

Hugging tight to everyone

I "couldn't lose"-- watch from the sidelines

"Just kidding" and "bitch mode", excuses in droves

Kindly correcting my every objection

Less honest opinions, much more anxiety

More sweeping myself under the rug, saying

Never mind that I have needs too

One more night asking where I factor in

Please tell me more about your emotional "intelligence"

Questions you ask like a mockery

Right when I think I've finally gotten through

Sit there and say "I just want to understand"

Tell me how much more I should explain

Until there's nothing more I could possibly say

Vested interest in the things you'd

Want to watch me throw away and just

Xanax the worries you embed in me

Your selfless empathy, just a pretty mask

Zero fucks left what you think, cause I've seen you.

sad poetryMental HealthFriendshipFor Fun
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Aspire5 months ago

    In the strangleholds of many lies, There springs an abundant fount of right. The truth breaketh down any obstructions and blight When, despite the darkness, the light is shining bright And dispels all the corrupt ungrowth. Honesty is coveted, it's said; unmired pearls, shining bright in the void. Though many solicitations and beckonings call for the hastening and speedy productions only patience guarantees their growth. Your poem, Sym, is worth reading. Thank you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.