Poets logo

A writers love

The thirst for the pen

By SharikaPublished 6 months ago 1 min read

Note pads ontop of note pads

Filled with words

As I jot down my endless thoughts

While the late night darkness lurks

It’s when I’m at my best

By the light of the moon

Captivated by the silence

My mind is in full bloom

Like the phoenix I rise

Up from the days ashes

As my pen dances softly

Across all my pages

I step back and admire

What I’m contemplating to submit

But like many writers

I wonder if all the words fit

I second guess my words

And rip out some pages

I rewrite my lines

To emulate what I envisioned

And once it’s all done

To my version of perfection

I mull over it some more

And make careful corrections

I read it out loud

And then to myself

Should I or shouldn’t I

I whisper to the books on my shelf

I’m sure I look crazy

To anyone who may stare

I’m in my own world now

And I’m quite comfortable here

It’s where no one can judge me

And I am free to create

Facts or fiction

It’s all fair game

I put my headphones on

And continue my madness

Of organized chaos

While I work on different

Vocal media challenges

I make joyful noise

With a multitude of phrases

Then I hit submit

And share my creations

inspirational

About the Creator

Sharika

I love writing, creating something out of nothing, the world is a canvas. Musically anything goes. I was the girl in high school in the corner with ear buds and notepad. Now I’m the women who dances to her own drum barefoot on shore.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶6 months ago

    This is such a delightful poem! “I read it out loud And then to myself Should I or shouldn’t I” From reading just this poem alone… I say, the answer is definitely YES!!🙃

  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    Lovely work!

  • Test6 months ago

    I love the way you use your words to express your love.

SharikaWritten by Sharika

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.