Poets logo

A Wedding Toast from the Father of the Bride

The one I Didn't Get to Give

By Dana CrandellPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
20
A Wedding Toast from the Father of the Bride
Photo by Alvin Mahmudov on Unsplash

One of my daughter's lifelong curses is having a dad who thinks he's a writer. That being the case, when the first hint of her (second) wedding came up, this old fart had to start writing a toast to be given on the day. As it turned out, they eloped, with only a couple of friends in attendance, so I never got to recite it. Some people's kids!

(Feel free to read this in your best Irish Brogue!)

With heartfelt vows and tenets read

Your lives are now united

And I, for one,

To see it done

Could not be more delighted.

---

A father's lot is to be there

Until no longer needed,

Then step aside

With pain and pride

And know his watch is ceded.

---

My Princess, I have never left

My station unattended.

Although I know

You've thought it so,

You ne'er were undefended.

---

But now I humbly pass the torch

To this good man beside you.

His heart is true

And I know you

Don't need my hand to guide you.

---

My daughter's hand was never meant

For anyone but you, Sir.

Please, hold her tight

And treat her right

And never, ever lose her,

---

For you have won the grandest prize

That e'er a man could vie for

And truth be told,

The heart you hold

At least one man would die for.

---

So, here's to love and here's to life

And here's to yours together

To lofty heights

And starlit nights

And all the storms you'll weather.

---

God bless you and the paths you walk.

May all your ills find healing

And all your tears

In coming years 

Be from the joy you're feeling.

love poems
20

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Veronica Coldiron7 months ago

    Aww! I wish my dad had done something like this! Beautiful!

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    It's so beautifully written.

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    This brought tears to my eyes. “The heart you hold at least one man would die for.” I lost all reason and cried.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Oh my. This is wonderful. Well done.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Hey, this was great!! You’ve really never recited it though?! You gotta find an excuse! Anniversary?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.