Poets logo

a-void

*

By Heather HublerPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
19
Created with NightCafeStudio

You won't get it til you've got it and by then it's too damn late,

cos all the insecurities and spotlight have got you twisted up with hate.

Not sure what things I've said or done to bring your shade at me,

now the ghost of us is lingering and I just want to set it free.

But I care too much about the silence when you've long since fled the scene,

its echo electrocutes me til my skull splits and the void takes all my screams.

I'm left a wary, shallow husk, confused and seeking closure,

while you creep along searching for your next victimless exposure.

____________________________________________________

Thank you for reading :)

heartbreakslam poetry
19

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    I'm guessing there is someone in mind and I don't know who but I'm sorry for that huskness.

  • Welcome. At least we both know we're not alone.

  • Powerful and intense

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Bold, brilliant, and heartbreaking💔

  • Mariann Carrollabout a month ago

    Some people just don’t know how to appreciate what a treasure they have until it’s too, late. I hope you are all right? Sending you good vibes🌻🥰

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Are you okay, my sweet fear friend? 🥺 This is so sad 🥺

  • Kelly Dunkleabout a month ago

    “its echo electrocutes me til my skull splits and the void takes all my screams.“ Love it! Powerful manipulation of words. Another gem!

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    "now the ghost of us is lingering and I just want to set it free." I felt that. Excellent words, my friend.

  • JBazabout a month ago

    How can one not relate to this line ‘now the ghost of us is lingering and I just want to set it free.’ What a beautiful visual of ‘void’. You paint

  • Gerard DiLeoabout a month ago

    The void. Avoid the void.

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    Damn, fuck. Heather, this slaps, as the yout' says! As Kelli said, preach it. I love the skull line...so visceral.

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a month ago

    Yes, preach it!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.