Poets logo

A Tribute

To the friends who gave me a hand up to help me out of domestic violence

By Anna QuigleyPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

A Tribute to Alternatives, Inc.
It will be six years ago this fall
That one decision changed it all
I thank Alternatives for their role
In guiding me toward my goals

I never imagined living in a shelter
But on this journey I needed a helper
So mid-September Two thousand and twelve
To Alternatives we took ourselves

Verbal, sexual, financial abuse
All methods of control he would use.
I had to leave, the stakes were too high.
It wasn’t just me that I had on my mind.

My boys were watching, absorbing, and learning
To be Just. Like. Daddy. was their greatest yearning
I knew if I didn’t walk out that door
Instead of one abuser - I’d have four



I thought I was powerless, life out of control
Homeless and jobless, my future untold
I dreamt of breaking generational curses
Of writing our family history with new verses

My child asked of me: “Mom, do you know?
“Can Daddy’s gun shoot out the shelter’s windows?”
I lied to him as I stroked his dear head.
“No, son, it’s bulletproof. Go on to bed.”

Angie watched over my kids with care
Rene did my intake - and I said a prayer
Lord, forgive me if I have made the wrong choice
I could no longer live with him silencing my voice

I couldn’t bear the thought of my daughter-in-laws
Being screamed at, controlled, abused ‘till they’re raw

With help from too many friends to mention,
I entered into an unknown dimension
Where I was capable, determined, resilient, and strong
I got things done and abhorred what was wrong

I learned boundaries, driving, and self-respect
Job training, budgeting, and how to detect
When someone has hidden motives for harm
And to trust that small voice that raises alarm

If it wasn’t for those who support people like me
I know exactly where I would still be
A life filled with fear, shame, and regret,
Powerlessness and the despair that begets

Out of the flames of domestic violence
The scars still etched on my countenance
Sometimes I jump at a sudden, harsh word
My fear asks - no - demands to be heard


For perpetrators there is NO excuse
For carrying out domestic abuse
My mission now is not to merely survive
I’m passionately learning how I can thrive

I want to give hope to those who are stuck
In relationships drowning in thick, toxic muck
I want you to know that you’re never alone
And abusive actions should Not. Be. Condoned.

If you’re in a situation and need an advocate
Reach out to Alternatives and they’ll handle it
They’re really non-threatening, just give them a call
They’ll stand up for you when you feel THIS small

Alternatives says, “No one deserves to be beaten.”
To the community they serve, they are a beacon
Of hope, and light, and how things could be
I know this is true ‘cause they did this for me.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.