Poets logo

A Tired Conversation

A child trying to get heard by a parent

By ian.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Tired Conversation
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

You talk to me

As if you are always right

And I have nothing to say

You call it a conversation

But it's not a dialogue

I sit and listen to you monologue

I respect you

So I sit and listen

Sometimes

Especially lately

My patience wears thin

I can't keep listening

When you are silent

And expect me to wait minutes

For you to find the right words

Words on a topic

That is trivial in the end

Why did it even matter

You're tired of being interrupted

I'm tired of being treated

Like I have nothing to say

Like I have nothing better than to sit and listen

Like I have no value

I listen because I am kind

And I care

But does that occur to you?

Or am I always supposed to sit

And listen at your feet?

You would say that

"Of course you can speak

I want to hear what you have to say"

But do you?

When you interrupt me too?

Where did you think I learned such a habit?

Why do you think I have to interrupt to be able to say one damn thing?

I am sorry for interrupting you

In that, I am sincere

But I am sorry that you don't care enough about my thoughts to listen to them or to act like I can never understand you or that I have nothing to say that you haven't already thought of.

I'm sorry you can't see my value.

And that

Is why I am so

Tired.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

ian.

Quiet thoughts plant stronger seeds than aggressive force. ian is a poet who has spent most of their time rewriting the world in their head. ian is heavily inspired by nature and loves to be an observer of the world, both urban and natural.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.