Poets logo

A Surrealist’s Dream

After Remedios Varo, Marion Elizabeth Adnams, Dorothea Tanning, and Frida Kahlo

By Bri CraigPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
A Surrealist’s Dream
Photo by Jeff Hardi on Unsplash

A woman once captured the moon in a silver birdcage,

where she spoon fed it minced midnight sky - and I never

knew whether she intended to nourish the light or keep her

captive alive and breathing. Yes, I heard the night sky

was safe to breathe, but a paper doll ought to be scared

of the night forest snatching her ribbon curls with sick

intentions. Branches too close to hands, always

too close to hands. I am always avoiding

hands these days because I carry a chrysanthemum

attached to my pinkie with a ball of yarn. My mossy

forearms grow up until they reach my Hydrangea

shoulderpads. I shake my grassy hair - watch the floral

patterns seeping out of my skin and around my thigh.

I am a child. I am living growth. I am blooming.

I am being eaten away.

~

I don’t remember who slashed open my stomach,

But one day I noticed green vines spilling out,

And all I could do was lay on my side and look

At the stars, but I could not see the moon.

Blood leaked from the veins of leaves but still

I wondered who had taken the moon from the

Sky?

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Bri Craig

Bri Craig (she/her) is a variety pack writer. She enjoys writing poetry, webcomic features, humor, short stories, and personal anecdotes. Basically, neither of us will ever know what will be posted next!

Let's connect! More about me here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    I love how beautiful and surreal the opening lines are. They really set the tone for the rest of the Poem. “Minced midnight sky” 👌🏻

  • cd3about a year ago

    nice!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.