Poets logo

I Swallow A Spider in my Dreams

A Poem

By Bri CraigPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
I Swallow A Spider in my Dreams
Photo by Alfred Schrock on Unsplash

You were the spider in my left lung,

but I sneezed and you stayed.

A dance of unplanned symbiosis:

the webbed breath, the air cocoon.

~

I bring to the butcher, an assembly

of my best pieces, ask for the

head to be removed from the body,

the body removed from the end.

But leave the spider in my lung

(to keep me company).

~

I invite everyone I’ve met at the corner store

and deliver unto them a feast of my finest self,

hoping no one questions the strangeness of

the main course, an assembly of seasonals:

a perhaps poisonous mushroom, a past-date

pollock, a pause to point out the sustainability

of eating insects (agreed upon by the spider).

~

But I end up eating dinner alone.

(Almost alone).

~

I don’t blame anyone for leaving the table.

Just like the spider cannot be blamed

for creating a meal out of the one

who has swallowed him.

nature poetry
2

About the Creator

Bri Craig

Bri Craig (she/her) is a variety pack writer. She enjoys writing poetry, webcomic features, humor, short stories, and personal anecdotes. Basically, neither of us will ever know what will be posted next!

Let's connect! More about me here.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.