Poets logo

A Summers Afternoon.

It Ended Too Soon.

By Erin ShieldsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
11

A solitary poppy

blooms.

Alone in the ground

with nothing around.

*

A heart shaped cloud

adorns the sky,

as birds pass it by.

*

A winding path

scattered with

forget me nots

and bench stops.

*

Grand old oak trees

nestled as far as the

eyes can see -

*

By one such tree,

a lover lays

not far away.

Waiting, holding

Wild Flowers;

hand picked.

*

A fiery red head

settles beside.

Sun beams upon

her blinded eyes.

*

Rosy red cheeks

as their eyes meet.

Kissing him as if it

had been weeks.

*

What a wonderful

summers afternoon.

Such a shame

it ends so soon.

Fast approaching

midnight's' moon.

- Erin 9th May 2017

All Copyrights belong to me do not use my work or re-post anywhere else without my permission.

love poems
11

About the Creator

Erin Shields

27. England. Poet. I have Bipolar, BPD & Anxiety. I’ve been writing since I was 18 as an outlet for my mental health.

I also have a Ko-Fi with more of my work: https://ko-fi.com/erin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.