Poets logo

A Strong Woman

Relinquish your past

By Adaline ArcherPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
3

Have you ever wanted to erase your past? To just pretend that you have never loved, been hurt or forgotten about, replaced, or taken advantage of. If you erase your past, all your doing is erasing all the things that made you who you are.

Challenges and hardships are what make life intriguing. Overcoming those challenges is what makes life meaningful. Lately I took a look in the mirror and I realized that after all that hurt, the scars and bruises, after all the trials I have been put through, I finally made it. I survived, and so can you.

I have chosen to leave the hurt behind. All of the reasons I've cried and the ones who have caused me pain. All my greatest accomplishments that I once thought I would never achieve, have come to be. I keep on succeeding every trial that I have faced, so here I am. A strong woman.

A strong woman is one who feels deeply and loves fiercely. Her tears flow just as strong and as abundantly as her laughter. A strong woman is both soft and powerful, practical and spiritual. A strong woman doesn't have one side or two, she is a mix of everything and nothing all at once. A strong woman does not need to be loved by anyone else, as she loves herself, all of her body, spirit and mind are her own.

I've thought about who I am, who I have to been, and who I want to be. I have had my eyes open and I have discovered new things about myself. We need to accept that we wont always make the right decisions. We will screw up, sometimes royally, but we need to understand that failure is not the opposite of success. There is no success without failure. Two things prevent us from happiness: living in the past and obsessing over others.

So what? You've made mistakes. Some probably altered your entire world but it's in your past so don't make that a part of your future. You need to learn to accept the past, as it happened, and learn from it. Not everyone is going to like you, and you are not going to like everyone. You need to accept that.

The last few years have been difficult but they have also been rewarding and great lessons to learn from. I choose to live my life in a way that I will forgive myself when I mess up and I will learn from my mistakes. I will love hard, respect others, and have ambition. I will be a strong woman.

So let go, enjoy life. Stand up, wipe the tears away, brush off your knees, and never let anyone knock you down.

performance poetry
3

About the Creator

Adaline Archer

Just a girl writing about the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.