Poets logo

A Statue in the Night

Sensory Poetry

By Heather HollandPublished 12 months ago ā€¢ 1 min read
2
A Statue in the Night
Photo by Dmytro Tolokonov on Unsplash

I wandered through the halls of stone,

Where silent eyes watched every move.

I felt a chill in every bone,

As if the walls had words to prove.

I stumbled upon an iron door,

That led me to a secret room,

Where statues stood upon the floor,

Waiting for the night to bloom.

I heard a whisper in my ear,

A voice that filled my heart with dread.

"You should not be among us here,

Else soon you will be stone instead."

I tried to run but it was too late;

The statues came to life.

They dragged me to a darkened fate,

Where I became a statue in the night.

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

Heather Holland

Heather Holland is the author of the short story "Dragonfly in Water." She also writes Simple Stories on Substack.com, and she is the main contributor to The Daily Rhyme - with Heather Holland and Special Guests.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • š‘šŒ š’š­šØšœš¤š­šØš§12 months ago

    Outstanding!

  • Nice piece šŸ’–šŸ“

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.