Poets logo

I'll Never Eat Spaghetti Again

It reminds me too much of you.

By Heather HollandPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
I'll Never Eat Spaghetti Again
Photo by Krista Stucchio on Unsplash

I had a crazy dream

Of you and me

Running side by side,

Past flowing streams

Of computer screens

With pictures deep and wide.

Your face on each

And I in tears

Trying to forget why,

But every screen

Reminded me

Of the day you died.

We continued running

Through window panes

Nearly out of breath,

Gasping and grasping

At anything we could

To keep us from your death.

But there it was

Out in front

An emptiness too vast,

Where I slowed up

And you kept running

Futher into the past.

One step more

And down you fell

Tumbling to ground,

Caught by surprise

On sidewalk pavement

With angels all around.

I ran downstairs

To find you there

With hands behind your head,

Your skull cracked open

Dripping spaghetti noodles

Covered all in red.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Heather Holland

Heather Holland is the author of the short story "Dragonfly in Water." She also writes Simple Stories on Substack.com, and she is the main contributor to The Daily Rhyme - with Heather Holland and Special Guests.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • John Sebbyabout a year ago

    Powerful, pulls you in and well-written. I'm sorry I read the end, because I love spaghetti.

  • Aaron Wulfabout a year ago

    This poem gave me such a surreal feeling that some sort of impending doom was coming. Immediately I was pulled in by your visuals, and by the end I was torn between the feelings of excited hysteria and sympathetic sadness, mostly because I was fully accepting of this dream where you and someone you cared for were running from computer screen to computer screen on a perfect day, it’s a place which doesn’t exist and yet I want to be there with them. But then I feel that pulling dread when you stop running, and they run too far until they hit the sidewalk, which by then is too late, and as they fall I sympathize with you, this loss was real, and that memory was slowly brought back to reality, and it reminds me that even though we may try to create a feel-good memory in our minds, reality can still slip in, because our emotions are real no matter if we decide to dwell in reality or temporarily in a dream. I loved this, and I hope my ramblings were coherent lol

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.