Poets logo

A State of Dire Distress

Why no Supreme Court decision will ever be enough

By Kat Sung (they/them)Published 2 years ago 2 min read
4

I never thought I was secretly wishing to be white;

I never realized my brainwashed biases of who deserved rights.

My intense longing to be different from myself;

Served as a distraction that put my potential on a shelf.

*

I thought I just wanted to belong,

But my rebellious spirit was far too strong.

The game of passing is a powerful shield,

But internally, it is much too heavy to wield.

*

Now that I have finally settled into my identity,

It’s clear how far away we are from being free.

This catastrophic time reversal is threatening to expand,

But with every loss comes an opportunity to take a stand.

*

The version of the Constitution that court decisions serve,

Is a cracked foundation we mustn’t continue to preserve.

It’s a basis for racist police brutality,

Defining it as a function of sworn return to slavery.

*

It promotes the lack of access to healthcare,

With disproportionate impact despite who sits in the SCOTUS chairs.

Even in the feminist movement of rights,

Inclusivity stops at straight cis women who are white.

*

As a veil of sadness and grief has covered the nation,

Many others have sprung into protesting action.

Meanwhile I can’t stop this uncontrollable flow of tears,

And visceral experience of the collective’s fears.

*

Even if a law or regulation is instated,

It’ll be another systematic prejudice that we are fated.

This glaring truth is consistently pushed aside;

Change will never occur until we agree to a rewrite.

*

I don’t know who this message will reach;

I guess I’m just practicing my freedom of speech.

Reform or not, citizens of this country we remain;

It’s my hope that someday we’ll have treatment that’s humane.

***

I’ve stayed relatively quiet about RvW and didn’t make my usual 4th of July social media posts. It took some time and tears to find the words for what I needed to express. I’m still not sure that this is it exactly, and I’m certain it’s not enough. I wish to spark a new movement that promotes true inclusivity through a revision of the Constitution. In the meantime, I will probably just continue to write down my big emotions and listen to the stories of others who need a non judgmental ear.

Thank you for taking the time to read and for any support gained from this writing. 💛🙏🏼

social commentary
4

About the Creator

Kat Sung (they/them)

The human experience through my personal lens.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Atomic Historian2 years ago

    This is a refreshingly unique perspective. Believe it or not I understand where you’re coming from a little.

  • This was amazing and very well written

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.