Poets logo

Road Visions

A new construction

By Kat Sung (they/them)Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
13
Road Visions
Photo by Jesse Bowser on Unsplash

Loosely paved and surrounded by vegetation

This path is invoked by the trust that I questioned

Despite the other miles I have driven

It’s this first one home that begs to be forgiven

***

While sitting silently in my therapist’s chair

The heavy dust particles settle in my hair

The pits and crevices bottom out my heart

Patiently, I dream of a re-construction for a new start

***

The lines are seemingly straight with sights set forward

Yet memories flash with the hidden curves of your words

The gut-wrenching feelings of deserving and deception

Are just as real now as they were at their inception

***

Processing begins with tapping left and then right

I envision the scene as my chest clinches tight

Within view are parallel lines of power and control

I realize your influence has always included tolls

***

As I work through familiar vehicle collisions

My budding self-worth points toward a decision

Your grip stretches out, reaching for the present

I chisel my feet free from under the pavement

***

The road cables resemble your marionette strings

I open myself to validation and prepare for the ribbon cutting

Naming the abuse, stepping outside the infernal

Despite being told that I was the one who is abnormal

***

You continue to rant even with the boundaries set

Wrapped up in your fury, you resort to a threat

The feeling of guilt is a powerful tool for manipulation

But I refuse to stay trapped in the delusion

***

Charming and well-liked, the character is textbook

You refuse to turn the mirror inward for a look

Constantly scared of not meeting the expectation

The initial pathway created could never meet perfection

***

I’ve heard for long enough the defense that you care

So engulfed in this belief I was left unaware

Now as the road is reopened with sun shining from above

The vision is forgiven with a new definition of love

***

Thank you for taking the time to read my newest poem. Please ❤️, tip, subscribe, and share as you feel called. To read more written by me click here. 🙏🏼💛

inspirational
13

About the Creator

Kat Sung (they/them)

The human experience through my personal lens.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    There was a range of emotions throughout this poem. Beautiful! I loved it!

  • This piece is full of emotion and then hope at the end. I love this Kat.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.