Poets logo

A Sonnet For My Sister Moving Out

Through the eyes of my high school self

By Lily WinterPublished 16 days ago 1 min read
A Sonnet For My Sister Moving Out
Photo by Michal Balog on Unsplash

She went into a dark and lonely place

Where she and only she could bear to be

She handled it with such an air of grace

And moved her things to somewhere she was free

My sister flew away and left me here

To grow up on my own and face the world

Although it seems she left the hemisphere

I still admire how her life unfurled

But I still know that she still feels alone

And know that she could never ask for help

I wish that my Lifeline would just come home

And wish that I knew how she truly felt

But even though I want her to be mine

I'll wait and hope she will drop me a line

Sonnet

About the Creator

Lily Winter

Hello! I am a twenty-year-old university student and avid writer. If you enjoy my work, a comment or tip would mean the world. To learn more about me, check out my instagram-

Personal: @lily_winter4722

Business: @lily_winter_writes

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Lily WinterWritten by Lily Winter

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.