Poets logo

A Sonnet for My Grade School Bully

Or: Anecdotal evidence that even Canadians can be rude

By Megan KishPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Sonnet for My Grade School Bully
Photo by Pi Cuatropuntocero on Unsplash

I wanted approval, that high regard

So I found it in friends, and grades – it’s hard

When kids compare, what you so often hear

Are harsh words and half-truths flung through the air

I retreated a bit, and found that it’s true:

Words – they can hurt - and that harm has a hue

If you’re hit, the bruises are blue and black:

Then soften to a yellow and you can come back

Words leave no mark; you can tell they were said

There’s weight on your heart, and aches in your head

I resent that I spent that time blending

Into the crowd; to the slurs; and relenting

They say only the good die young, so child;

I’m quite sure you’ll be around for a while

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Megan Kish

I'm writing for a few reasons - not the least of which is at the behest of my dad, who is always the reader I have in mind when I'm writing.

This is for you, pops!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.