Poets logo

A Sonnet for Dreams

To remind us to take pride in our goals, dreams & passions, no matter who tries to tell us otherwise.

By Sangeetha GowdaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
A Sonnet for Dreams
Photo by eric combeau on Unsplash

I want to roar like a lion, but fear smothers my dreams

Blatant cries of bystanders seep like poison through my skin

Stifled by unfaithfulness and discontented screams

I’m forced into a servitude that tell me I’m akin

Crude voices project messages of righteousness and sooth

As insecure shadows linger solemnly behind

They say my dreams are but fantasy, acquired through youth

As deceitful lies shelter me, clouding up my mind

But my voice shalt not be weary, over whelmed nor dictated

Though many stand against me stale, awaiting such a fall

Courage in my journey, I will keep my mind elated

With thoughts, as golden symphonies, remind me to stand tall

Let their prejudiced opinions constrict them and decay

For feeble chains can never hold a lion from its prey.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Sangeetha Gowda

Actor | Writer | Director | Mixed Race Aussie 🇦🇺

.

Writing away my emotional breakdowns and creating thought provoking films that showcase diversity, as I work towards catching a break in my Acting career.

.

#mentalhealth

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.