Poets logo

A Song of Fire

Thoughts of a broken one

By Juan Lli PedrazaPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Song of Fire
Photo by Timothy Meinberg on Unsplash

The broken heart sits still on the ground.

The weight of reality drops down,

and blood starts flowing.

I see the fire dancing,

prancing,

challenging me,

asking if I will let my feelings take over.

The fire is my confidant tonight.

My lover.

My savior in a night in which I am nothing but a lonely man,

a broken man,

in the middle of a multitude.

The music means nothing,

the artificial lights are mute,

they drown in the glow of a red sea.

Red, orange, yellow,

on and off,

the colors go,

they shuffle.

I hear voices, but they mean nothing,

tonight there is only You and I.

Voices,

I remember.

Her voice spoke words of darkness to my ear.

I held her.

I held her tight until I couldn’t.

Until the gavel of reality smacked me down.

Fire.

The ashes accumulate.

It needs another cord.

My mind is racing,

analyzing,

what happened?

Who was it?

In moments of ignorance,

curiosity may be the judge, jury and executioner.

//IG: @juanspeaks

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Juan Lli Pedraza

Hi!

I'm a Venezuelan poet living in Florida. I am a poet for hire on the weekends which means I type poems for strangers on my typewriter about whatever topic they want. Hope you enjoy.

Check my work on IG: @juanspeaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.