Poets logo

Shapeshifter

Identity

By Juan Lli PedrazaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2

At times I hold my voice down.

I let silence linger long enough for my skin

to place doubts on the audience of who I am and where I come from.

I mangle my words into a script and keep my lines short and sweet.

My tongue wallows deep in the aftertaste.

That cocktail of shame and regret scorches

the inner walls of my mouth.

At times my blood runs red one way.

Sometimes it changes tracks,

and I adapt parts of my body

that aren’t meant to bend in certain ways.

My heart sinks deep into my gut,

And my skin follows along.

At times I wear a mask for long enough,

I sometimes lose track of where it ends and where my skin begins.

My skin aches in remorse.

I clutch these traits to my chest

as a bible, a survival guide,

a salvation piece.

Ambiguity is a veil I feel most comfortable with.

Shame just happens to ride along.

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Juan Lli Pedraza

Hi!

I'm a Venezuelan poet living in Florida. I am a poet for hire on the weekends which means I type poems for strangers on my typewriter about whatever topic they want. Hope you enjoy.

Check my work on IG: @juanspeaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.