Poets logo

A Song for Sunlight

I always used to be scared of the dark

By CorwynnaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Song for Sunlight
Photo by William Farlow on Unsplash

shadows in the window reach

the glass is cracked and thin

my hands on ears that cannot close

I sing

I sing again

a warbling high

a lullaby

tears tighten the pitch

shadows in the window reach

I sing

I sing again

blanket shield me from the dark

pillow take me down

let me sleep right through the night

bring me straight to dawn

I long for golden feathers brushing

softly through the sky

when the sun is flying there

the clouds can never cry

sweet melody

of daylight's heart

it lingers on my tongue

shadows in the windows reach

I sing until

they're gone

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Corwynna

I'm a 28 year old writer and biologist with a million hobbies and enough passion for all of them!

Explore my music, stories, and homebrew on my site:

https://sites.google.com/view/corwynnascorner/home

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.