Poets logo

Dancing My Way Home

After heartbreak is healing - and joy comes again

By CorwynnaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Dancing My Way Home
Photo by Diego Rosa on Unsplash

washing the dishes I dance to the beat

my hips swing the rhythm along

my heart times the pattern

I scrub in the foam

phone ringing silent ignored

with all that I have, here in the house that I own

paid for with sweat I gave willing

the floors ones I chose for the tap of my feet

the sound of a drum

in my dancing

the contact alights and pierces the dim

the comforting shadow breaks, fleeing

but music intercedes and the air here is calm

I'd opened the window

to hear it

birds in the forest, the sounds of alone

the sounds of no screaming or horns

the sound of bouncing swing twines among them easily

I dance without you

I am home

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Corwynna

I'm a 28 year old writer and biologist with a million hobbies and enough passion for all of them!

Explore my music, stories, and homebrew on my site:

https://sites.google.com/view/corwynnascorner/home

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Veronica Coldiron2 years ago

    As a singer/songwriter, this poem truly reaches in and takes me home. Music may not be a cure all, but it certainly is a heal all. LOVE this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.