Poets logo

A small sip of tea

By: Mikayla James

By Mikayla JamesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

A small sip of tea.

That was all I had for breakfast, lunch, and dinner today.

For my mind did not allow anything else to enter the vicinity of my mouth.

It was simply my warm teacup, my lips, and I, and no feast would make itself known anytime soon.

So for each hour in the different sectors of the day, a small, prolonged sip would be taken from my weary teacup.

One for the morn. Another for the dusk. And an especially long one for the glower of the looming moon.

My teacup has had yet to be finished, for there are still droplets of a dull orange hue remaining with the cup.

Or perhaps, it was brown?

With my vision blurred, and the chirping of birds beckoning my lost name, I take one final sip and doze off underneath the sunrise's watchful eye.

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    MJWritten by Mikayla James

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.