Poets logo

A shadow on the Sun

A catharsis, hopefully?

By Sandra Tena ColePublished 12 days ago 1 min read
8
A shadow on the Sun
Photo by Mathew Schwartz on Unsplash

Era of solitary confinement, where my soul has gone:

Countries, both so vastly different, so unnervingly the same,

Lost homes I never had and never did exist, everywhere I look there's scorn

I'm not what I thought I was, not magnificence, not only shame

Picture the Moon chasing the Sun, only catching up to be forlorn,

Sierra Madre bound, all my family looks up, never to see me nor fame,

Everything I left behind: turns out I was only meant to be as fleeting as a shadow on the Sun

~*~

Thank you for reading my poem. This one is a particularly difficult one for me to put out there, given that I used the eclipse as a metaphor for my depression. Living with chronic pain and mental illness is not easy for anyone, and the kind of scrutiny that we are often put under tends to make it even harder. I want to explore mental health with my writing, both for my own healing and for anyone else who might need a catharsis.

If you enjoyed my piece, a heart, a comment or an insight would be much appreciated. A donation in support of my writing journey would also be welcome if you feel so inclined.

As for my depression, sometimes I can manage better than others, so here's one of my positive pieces on the subject, in case you wish to read more.

Mental Healthsad poetryheartbreakAcrostic
8

About the Creator

Sandra Tena Cole

Actress, Model, Writer

Co-producer at His & Hers Theatre Company

Esoteric Practitioner

Idealist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 days ago

    I'm so sorry for what you're going through 🥺 I hope writing this was therapeutic for you. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • I don’t know what to say but want to give you my support. You’re a great writer, Sandra. Thank you for sharing this.

  • Excellent Sandra. Everyday, I see first-hand how debilitating it is for someone to live with major depression and chronic pain. It is not easy. I feel for you. Thank you for sharing this part of your life with us in such a creative manner.

  • I am glad that you put this out, it has great power, and I shape you have the support you need

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.