Poets logo

Ode to the Quesadilla

Because who wouldn't want to appreciate cheese inside a warm tortilla?

By Sandra Tena ColePublished about a month ago 2 min read
9
Pic taken by me when I had to be in Mexico for a few months to make my visa conditions valid before marrying my gorgeous Stevie. I found the Strongbow cider in the shop and I couldn't help but make a "best of both worlds" shot!

Quesadilla, oh tortilla

warm totilla home of melted cheese and happy fillah!

How the cheese stretches out into infinity as you halve the quesadilla,

How it generously fills your mouth

(your already watering mouth)

How the flavourful and warm tortilla hugs your tastebuds

And sparks a happy memory of waiting in line for the freshly made tortillas

(that warm happy roll with only salt for filling that the happy child eats in line, a happy gift from the happy staff at the tortilleria)

Well, that's when we talk about the corn tortillas for the quesadillas,

But flour tortillas are equally as valid - and yummy - I have to say.

As for the cheese, the meltier the better, but fresh cheese is often welcome!

Extras like tomato, avocado, or refried beans are welcome too,

As well as mixing shredded cheese with shredded carrot

before you put them in the grill,

And many people would say that any fillers from Mexico City

are their favourite variation,

And I honestly can't say that anyone is in the wrong here, to be fair!

Oh, but quesadilla, made with corn tortilla,

and a splash of lime juice or tomato filler,

My tummy remembers you and thanks you for the satiated munch,

My tastebuds even more,

and my memory core promises my body I'll eat you again,

sometime, somewhere,

and in the meantime I shall keep eating flour quesadillas

as and when the fancy takes me and I find good wraps

and any other fillings that I want...

And golly, the thought got away from me,

like the strings of melted cheese when you bite the quesadilla,

and you feel the yumminess in your already watered mouth...

Oh quesadilla, yummy quesadilla,

everyone should be able to eat'ya...!

~*~

Thank you for reading my very loving ode to quesadillas, and let it be known that my first attempt at that line was "Thank you for eating my very loving ode to quesadillas".

If you enjoyed my humour and descriptions, feel free to read any of my other pieces (though not all are of the humorous kind, but hopefully you'll still enjoy them all!)

As a freelance writer, actress and artist's model, I would greatly appreciate your support in any way it moves you to: a heart, a comment, a share, a donation, any or all count for something good when it comes to allowing me to create more, so thank you on advance.

For Fun
9

About the Creator

Sandra Tena Cole

Actress, Model, Writer

Co-producer at His & Hers Theatre Company

Esoteric Practitioner

Idealist

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm13 days ago

    I don’t think I’ve had this specifically, but you had me at cheese, Sandra- “the meltier the better”. 😊👏

  • Correct on all counts. It truly is difficult to go wrong with such a repast.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Omgggg, your poem made my mouth water! I wish I can have a quesadillas right now! Loved your yummy poem!

  • Samuel Wrightabout a month ago

    Crap, now I'm hungry again... Lol. :-D

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Fun and entertaining ode to the cheese Quesadieas!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Joe Pattersonabout a month ago

    I love quesadillas.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.