Poets logo

A Series of Short Poems

Inspired by Neil Hilborn

By Natasha GiannantonioPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

A Series of Short Poems

This poem is called “How to Never Stop Overthinking”.

Paint scenarios in your mind with colours you hate,

Repeat that you love them,

Never unhang it from the wall.

This poem is called “I Locked The Door”.

I heard the banging of your fists,

Deafening pleas to be let back in,

After I swam across an ocean of hope,

Only to drown in it.

This poem is called “An Unfortunate Series of Reality”.

Deprive a person of love for one day,

They will spend a lifetime searching in

The wrong places.

This poem is called “I Wish You Didn’t Get a Gun”.

Pull the fucking trigger if you’re going to point it at my head,

The bullet read “I don’t love you anymore”.

This poem is called “Words, Words, Words”.

I love you sounded blander than a white wall,

Duller than a dying fire,

Tasted like unseasoned chicken.

I love you was a reflex,

White wine spilling into your lap.

This poem is called “The Garden”.

The brightest of roses cast the darkest shadows,

Bleeding red,

Weeping black.

This poem is called “I Hope You Pull My Box From The Attic”.

Don’t forget me when I’m gone,

You might see why you needed me

In the first place.

This poem is called “The Accident, But The Other Side”.

I could only hear your voice,

White noise behind,

Silencing the stirring of atoms.

I wish it wasn’t your voice, not to say I wish it was someone else’s,

But to say I wish it never happened.

This poem is called “Get Inside my Skin”.

Day 45 and the light is still burnt out

Behind those eyes of yours -

Please don’t get lost.

This poem is called “The Old Couple on the Porch Swing”.

They sit hand in hand, sipping iced tea,

Noses up to smell the countryside,

Remembering the days they didn’t love themselves,

Seeing how much they’ve changed.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.