Poets logo

A Safe Place

Saving our teens lives!

By Courtney McCarthyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I was inspired to write this piece of poetry after learning that there was a boy, 13, that died by suicide who attended that same school as my son.

I was heartbroken for the family, and I was scared for mine, I too, have a son that is the very same age, and so panic started to set in, and then the anxiety took over my nerves, and the fear, oh the fear, the fear had settled into every single one of my bones, and tears, slowly made their way down my cheek.

I couldn't look at my son without shivering from feeling the feelings of sadness and heartbreak of the people who loved that boy, raging all throughout my body.

I couldn't stop feeling guilty for thanking the heavens that I still have my son here.

So I thought about all the things that I could do for my son, that would hopefully give him the confidence of knowing that he could come to me with any question, for any reason, and could tell me everything, nothing was off the table.

I promised that I would love him through it all, that no matter what he has ever done, will do, or sets out to do, my arms are always wide open. I promised him that I would always be his "safe place"

I then, put phone numbers of texts line, and kids help phone into the contacts folder of his phone, just in case, and when he said, " mom you don't have to worry about me" I said, that's great!, then the numbers are there in case you need them to help your friends.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Courtney McCarthy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.