Poets logo

A Requiem

Mourning the inner child

By VTPublished 8 months ago 2 min read
3
Requiem: an act or token of remembrance.

You let love break

You let love take

You let love shake

You let love steal and create a well for hate for rage

For a self that could not know

For a self that could not show

A true love because that love was never known

That love created a being afraid

Afraid of that change

A being that would run back to what she knew instead of wait

So I wait

I feel the rage, I feel the pain

I feel the distain

Knowing there’s no one to blame

I build a Requiem for this day

This day, this age

Because I’m no longer afraid

Afraid of losing everything

I welcome it

I welcome the pain

Of a heart that’s ripped of its fiber, it’s soul, it’s brain

The thoughts it has will change

And I will sew with new thread new tissue

A heart that cannot mirror anything

It’s not gold, it’s not ore, it’s not valuable to anyone who looks for prestige and wants to be known

It’s flesh

Flesh and cartilage

What I was born at the start with

Something fragile something vulnerable

Something only my soul could know

This heart I grow with a light that has shone

Shone upon a sea that only now has started to churn

Because the gold was only a shield for the pain I didn’t know

The pain I was shown

I love what I hate, and I didn’t know until that day

Now from the spindle I spin veins not gold

I create a heart, I strip ore from my bones

I love the way the hurt flows

The emotions that create

The past I condone

I let it all go

I’m a human

I am ok with this human

I don’t cry tears of gold

I don’t have a heart of stones

I cry salt

And my heart cries blood

Blood that drips from my soul into my lungs

And leaves the body cold and numb

The soul is dead and the body is done

That night I died

I also came to life

A being was created

A soul

A life

And this requiem I built, a homage to my old life

Is so beautiful, more than beautiful

It was made by the inner child

The inner child that still cries

And is enraged at the one who passed them the knife

But I guess it’s time

The ceiling fell

And the foundation is gone

And I’m relishing the build

My inner child is done

Hibernating as I rebuild this soul breathing life into its lungs

Then she can create

Now that the emotion has flown

The pain has been shown

And I laid to rest this love I had once known

Thank you for attending my requiem.

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

VT

Where words fail my poetry speaks…

and I’m really not good at speaking.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great poem!

  • Manisha Dhalani8 months ago

    "I cry salt". Such great words and a poem that really had a lot of emotion. Well done!

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    Im in love with this and will be rereading this. Can I read this on my podcast?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.