Poets logo

A Poetry That Cannot Hold You

somewhere in the night

By Sam Eliza GreenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4

Somewhere in the night,

there is a poetry that cannot hold you.

Unsubjected to lackluster words and imagery,

you flew through my dream and brought me to

a kind of neverland

where age returns to youth and

children realize that Older wanted to play with them

but was still tied by the sting of rejection

because we never really outgrow that part of life,

do we?

Somewhere in the night,

I thought I saw your true form — some sort

of psyche, unbound by mortal worries and destiny.

You taught me to see beauty in the undefined, and I

promised to stand

in the moonlight a little longer

and remember that Older simply meant more days

not less living because every moment can be eternity

if freed.

Somewhere in the night,

we danced like lovers meeting for the first

time, and last, and in betweens. You held me

like a poetry that does not tether nor pigeonhole

but weaves my strands

of brokenness into a cohesive whole,

and I realized that Older was a picture of healing

not regret because we must accept change in the face

of uncertainty.

Somewhere in the night,

I decided that I wasn’t afraid of tomorrow.

Then, you whispered something I’ve never

heard but needed, desperately, to know. “I have

always been

with you.” Unsubjected to nightmares, I discovered

that Older wasn’t a meager word or number, rather

a feeling.

surreal poetry
4

About the Creator

Sam Eliza Green

Wayward soul, who finds belonging in the eerie and bittersweet. Poetry, short stories, and epics. Stay a while if you're struggling to feel understood. There's a place for you here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.