Poets logo

A Poetic Struggle

It's the feeling of writer's block and the frustration that comes with it.

By Gargie S AnandPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
6
A Poetic Struggle
Photo by Marcos Paulo Prado on Unsplash

Sometimes the urge to write fades away

Today is one of those days,

When you don’t feel like

Composing anything or writing anything.

And this makes me ponder

About motivation a little bit,

Why does the ink flow endlessly at times?

And other days, the pen remains still,

As if it is on a strike, demanding a pause,

And needs a break from its daily ritual.

Today is a day when I am utterly clueless,

About what to pen down.

My brain seems to be clogged,

It’s stuck somehow

As if it needs some oiling.

Should I write about my day?

Or the silent trees or friends or life itself?

Just not getting the inspiration

The walls echo emptiness today,

And inspiration seems to be on a vacation.

This is frustrating!

The words want to elude me,

They just won’t string together.

I don’t feel like composing anything today

Or, did I end up composing something today.

Does not the quietest moments have stories too

The ink may have a nap,

The pen may strike

But stories do find a way to be told

They are sneaky too!

By Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Stream of Consciousnessinspirationalart
6

About the Creator

Gargie S Anand

Gargie is a graduate in Economics and English. She loves to write about tiny things happening around. She tries to capture every moment of life through her writing. A soul who believes her powers lie within the pen and a paper.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    I felt that. "Does not the quietest moments have stories too." That's a great line, and a great poem. Well done.

  • Sometimes, the best way to deal with a writer's block is to write about it! Loved your poem! Hope you get inspiration soon!

  • Well said! 🤩 I only started writing four months ago and this was my default position. ‘Should I write about my day? Or the silent trees or friends or life itself? Just not getting the inspiration The walls echo emptiness today,’ I couldn’t write a word without a prompt or challenge to start me off… ‘ My brain seems to be clogged, It’s stuck somehow As if it needs some oiling.’ A perfect description of the state of my mind back then… I have occasional thoughts now, unrelated to prompts… progress?🧐

  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    We’ve all been there! Great work!

  • Michelle Liew3 months ago

    With you on this one. It's not easy to be a writer!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.