Poets logo

A Poetic Meeting On Line

From The Workshop Collection

By Marc OBrienPublished 12 months ago 2 min read
Like
Books By Marc O'Brien

What changed me the most is

One simple encounter in the biz

While preparing to be judged

Like candy or fudge

At the summer fair

Where?

The smallest mistake

Social critics observing will call you a fake

When pulling out the blue-ribbon winner you did bake

But on this day

Everything is done the director’s way

I bumped into a lady modeling innocent white

Soldier muscles showing, ready to fight

An artistic battle

A call for cattle

Beef sauteed seduction

Mass marketed production

She introduced herself

Presenting pretty good health

Afterwards we had afternoon tea

She seemed interested in me

Until I performed that one microscopic error

Created conversation peril

“I did not just show up”

She said over this peaceful brewing cup

“I came here to die

Scream and cry”

“What about you?”

I did not know what to do

If I told her the truth

My lovely theatrical tease would hit the roof

“I came here

Act in fear

Earning a free beer

I did as the crew asked

And shared what was in their flask”

Hearing my side

Not saying I lied

Instead tried

Being a real guy

We both returned back

Found two others voicing the soundtrack

Of the monster sorority attack

“Oh well”

She said, “I hope that image will sell’

In the trailer

Being shown to the lonely sailor

“Is our evening through?”

She inquired acting cool

Reminding me I had a private swimming pool,

Camera, grip and boom

We could produce our scene under the moon

“I could use a bath

And a little wrath”

She responded

And we bonded

In a year we had a wedding kiss

Filled with romantic bliss

Due to rejection

And my gentlemen protection

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Marc OBrien

Barry University graduate Marc O'Brien has returned to Florida after a 17 year author residency in Las Vegas. He will continue using fiction as a way to distribute information. Books include "The Final Fence: Sophomores In The Saddle"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.