Poets logo

A Poem to the Lover I Never Had

To the One Who I Couldn’t Call Mine

By Ashley RamosPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like
Photo Credits Belong to Me

One of the best things in life is not simply a thing

They are inviting and welcoming just like the first blooming flower after a long gloomy winter

They are those who make us feel warm, like on a soft summer’s night where the winds blows gently and the night sky turns slowly

They are the ones our heart longs to hold to soothe our beings after a hectic day

They are the ones who love us throughout chaotic nights and tear stained pillows where we do not love ourselves

They are the ones who lift us up after our souls become too heavy to bear on our own

They are our greatest companion who fill our heart with hope and our mind with endless dreams

They are the ones who we turn to at the end of the day, rooting and cheering them on as they do to us

Sacred they are to our gentle and broken hearts, our hearts mended by their hands that we long to hold

We belong to each other because the bond we hold is a tie, a knot in promise of cherishment and commitment

You, are to me a gentle sprinkle on a hot summer's day, a light breeze among the field of flowers we roam at dusk, a hand to hold in times of darkness where one cannot bear to open their eyes

You, are who I allow myself to become weak for, who throws my caution and fear into the air to be taken away by the wind

You are more to me than I’ve ever realized, and whether that is a blessing or a curse is not for me to decide

You, are the one I cherish, the one I love, and you are to me what I wish I was to you

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Ashley Ramos

Hi :) I hope you’re having a good day, thank you for checking out my page I hope you stay while ! Young writer, I post new Vocals when the inspiration comes so keep an eye out!❤️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.