Poets logo

A poem about a blank slate

Un poema sobre un borrón

By Zoe Espino MorenoPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Hé. L èN. e (Pinterest)

I feel new to life.

I feel new to cleaning, breathing

I feel new to time and what to do with it

I feel new to cooking, to deciding and choosing, I feel new to fun and excitement, to dressing up and meeting others

I feel new to sunshine, to writing, to planning, to trying

I feel new to eating and drinking, walking, running, I feel I was put on Earth at –almost– 25

I feel new to my fingers and toes, to my language(s)

I feel like a stranger I know so very well

I feel new to playing and dancing

to sex

like I hit the reset button in my head and now I'm an empty diary that almost still remembers what it said and yet can't say it

I feel on the tip of my own tongue

I look like me and don't, what once was natural is still but also isn't.

I remember, and my memory persists and insists that that's me

but it feels foreign,

and also familiar

I feel the same sensations in the same places but I am like a newborn discovering its own hands

my hands, what they can do

I feel new to believing in myself and also doubting myself

I feel like an empty vessel, like a spent perfume bottle that still retains the scent

and still, if I wasn't new to flowers and the sense of smell I could almost tell which scent it is.

✦✧✦✧

Me siento una novata.

Me siento nueva limpiando, respirando,

siento que el tiempo es nuevo y también el qué hacer con él,

me siento nueva cocinando, decidiendo, eligiendo, siento que la diversión es nueva, la excitación, el vestirme y ver a otros,

siento que la luz del sol es nueva, escribir, planear, intentar,

me siento nueva comiendo y bebiendo, caminando, corriendo, siento que aparecí en la tierra a los –casi– 25

siento que descubro los dedos de mis manos y pies, mis idiomas,

me siento una extraña a la que conozco de pé a pá

me siento nueva jugando y bailando

con el sexo

siento que he pulsado el botón de reset de mi cabeza y ahora soy una libreta vacía que casi recuerda lo que decía y no lo puede decir,

me siento en la punta de mi lengua,

me parezco a mí pero no, lo que era natural lo es y a la vez no,

recuerdo, y la memoria persiste e insiste en que esa soy yo y a la vez

lo siento ajeno

y también familiar

siento las mismas sensaciones en los mismos sitios pero me siento un recién nacido que descubre que tiene manos

mis manos, y lo que pueden hacer

me siento nueva creyendo en mí y dudando de mí

me siento como un jarrón vacío, una botella de perfume sin líquido que aún conserva el olor

y si no fuera nueva con las flores y el sentido del olfato, casi que podría decir qué olor es.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Zoe Espino Moreno

“I hate writing, I love having written.” – Dorothy Parker

❂ ❂ ❂

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.